The Crimson Valley

The canyon floor was awash in red.  It poured between the spires and mountains, carrying with it all of the fury and the tragedy that had brought it forth in the first place. Armor littered the ground for miles like so much rubbish, each breastplate, each set of greaves, encasing a body that could no longer carry on.  Swords and spears stuck out at all manner of angles, as though to mark each and every failed melee.

Thrust, parry, spin, guard, turn– hit your mark.

One after another they had fallen.  In the heat of the afternoon, and on into the night, when the sky crackled with lightning and then opened up to pour down upon the land.

It was Elezar’s worst nightmare.  The rain that would have once been welcomed now carried with it the blood of a thousand fallen soldiers.  It ran into the river, which flowed past his village, and made it unsafe to drink.  He was supposed to be protecting his villagers, but how was he supposed to fight an enemy that was already dead?

Welcome to October! I am so excited to have this time of year here again.  Are you ready for some spooky stories?  Some of my tales might be very short this year, more images, ideas and glimpses than what I have written in years past.  Some of this ideas might be fleshed out and expanded upon in the distant future, some might not.

I am still wrapping up my science fiction story, No Distance greater than the Stars, as well as getting ready for NaNoWriMo 2016.  Check back often to see what new writing I have for you to enjoy.  Happy reading!

About Legends of Lorata

Eleanor Willow is the author of the high fantasy series Legends of Lorata, which takes place on a medieval-style world filled with elves, dragons, and faeries. There is also a fourth race, one that is rare and magical: the angelic Starr. Lorata is a distant planet watched over by four deities: good, evil, elemental, and celestial-- and there are plenty of legends about them all! One of the most important ones is the prophecy of Jenh's champion, Loracaz, who is promised to return to the realm whenever evil threatens to take hold. There are currently three books completed, and the first one can be read online. Book four is currently being written, and a fifth will most likely be in the future.
This entry was posted in Ghost stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s