A vision of the universe

The people of Lorata have an interesting view of the universe. They believe in four primary deities:

I. Jenh, goddess of the elementals. The magic she shares with Lorata is called Zeah, and most users of it are able to manipulate one of the 12 elements.

II. Métius, the evil god, lord of demons. He rules the Abyss, a desolate realm associated with pain, suffering, and death. He has been called by many nicknames, and he is fiercely jealous of the worship Jenh receives. His followers are often hedonistic and yearn for power.

III. Kearr, god of light and life, the purifier. He cancels out the deeds of the demon god, helping bring balance to Lorata. His holy power and his saints are known for healing, peace, and love.

IV. Aamh, celestial goddess and deity of the bards. She is wise and kind, and encourages the pursuit of science and music. She is both mysterious and motherly, and she often come with paradoxes. Her legions are the angels, and she gifted to Lorata the angelic race called the Starr.

Lorata is home to four races:

I. The elves, many of which follow Jenh. It was an elf who helped share knowledge of the goddess’s existence with the world, and who encouraged others to worship her. It was another elf who freed her when Métius acted on his jealousy and trapped her in a crystal that sapped away her power. Elves can also worship any of the other deities. Additionally, there are sub-types of elves, such as those best suited for aquatic regions, and tribal elves who live in various forests. Some believe that Jenh made the elves, but more common is the idea that she only nurtured their evolution. Elves are one of the most common races of Lorata.

II. Faeries. The fae of Lorata come in two sizes: tall, like the elves, and small, also called pixies; they are more or less palm-sized. Faeries are said to be originally created by Jenh, and most of them worship her. Like elves, there are some fae who specialize based on region, such as forest or tribal fae. Their wings come in many, many variations. They can interbreed with elves and Starr. There are smaller dragons with fae wings, but their origins are unclear. Faeries might outnumber elves, especially since small fae allow for there to be more, though it’s hard to be certain.

III. Dragons. Most dragons of Lorata have an appearance typical of Earth’s European dragons: four legs (the front ones are more like arms) and two wings. They aren’t as big as they dragons of other worlds; think more like dinosaurs in size, but not the biggest ones. Most of Lorata’s dragons live in or near mountains, but there are smaller species in some forests. There are a few serpentine dragons on Lorata, and they are much longer. There are also some sea dragons, and a sub-species without wings, which is smaller. Dragons can worship any deity, though they have a bad reputation for revering Métius due to their jealousy of how much Jenh loves the elves and faeries. They do, however, often befriend elves and tall fae, and with the right amount of respect, they will serve as their mount, allowing some knights to become dragoons. While even the strongest of the tall fae are physically unable to mate with dragons, some elves can.

IV. Starr, the angelic race. Most Starr of Lorata look like elves with feathered wings, and some have delicate fae-like features. There was once a lineage of dragons with angelic wings. New Starr are only born to elves, faeries, or dragons most devout to Aamh, especially bards. Starshine, for example, was born to an elvan mother and father. The Starr can interbreed with any other species, but rarely choose to take another Starr as their mate. They are the rarest of the world’s races, though their love for family produces many descendants of mixed race. The Starr and most of their descendants only worship Aamh, but they do see the wisdom and value of other deities.

About Legends of Lorata

Eleanor Willow is the author of the high fantasy series Legends of Lorata, which takes place on a medieval-style world filled with elves, dragons, and faeries. There is also a fourth race, one that is rare and magical: the angelic Starr. Lorata is a distant planet watched over by four deities: good, evil, elemental, and celestial-- and there are plenty of legends about them all! One of the most important ones is the prophecy of Jenh's champion, Loracaz, who is promised to return to the realm whenever evil threatens to take hold. There are currently three books completed, and the first one can be read online. Book four is currently being written, and a fifth will most likely be in the future.
This entry was posted in Legends of Lorata - General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s