A Modern Legend- Page One Hundred Seventy-one

They walked for what seemed like ages, and it was mostly quiet. They stopped only when they came to a solid wall. Cerys blinked, barely stopping herself from bumping into James, and looked around. She has expected to find a bend to the right, or perhaps even to the left, but there was nothing.

“What happened?” she asked, keeping her voice low, as though she feared that some fell creature would overhear them.

“This is one of the structures built to keep out trouble,” Sir Carter explained.

“But where do we go next?” Cerys wanted to know.

Nashtra gave James and knowing look, and James look to Ridley. He held up one finger. At first, Cerys only blinked. Then she saw his finger going upward, and she followed the found movement, realizing at last that he wanted her too to look straight up. She gazed towards the ceiling, but found that it disappeared into darkness.

Carter lifted up his lantern higher. For much of the tunnel, the stone ceiling has not been very high above them. Here, though, near the wall, it was much higher up. Cerys could not tell how much higher, for it disappeared in the shadows.

“How do we get up there?” Cerys asked.

Ridley grabbed his bow and prepared an arrow. “Seeing as how none of us can fly,” he said, “I suppose I can get the ladder down for us.”

Ridley notched the arrow, pulled back on the string, and pointed it up into the shadows. The arrow flew, whirring through the cool air, and disappeared. Cerys and the others could hear it knocking against things high above them. Then there was a clattering, as though it had tumbled on to a higher surface.

About Legends of Lorata

Eleanor Willow is the author of the high fantasy series Legends of Lorata, which takes place on a medieval-style world filled with elves, dragons, and faeries. There is also a fourth race, one that is rare and magical: the angelic Starr. Lorata is a distant planet watched over by four deities: good, evil, elemental, and celestial-- and there are plenty of legends about them all! One of the most important ones is the prophecy of Jenh's champion, Loracaz, who is promised to return to the realm whenever evil threatens to take hold. There are currently three books completed, and the first one can be read online. Book four is currently being written, and a fifth will most likely be in the future.
This entry was posted in Serial novel - A Modern Legend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s